leftCCE Division HomeCCE Division Degree ProgramsCCE Division FacultyCCE Division Facilities and ResourcesCCE Division Searchright
HomeHistoryFaculty & ResearchSeminarsGraduate ProgramUndergraduate ProgramCareersContactsLinks

William N. Lacey Lectureship
Seminars Today | Seminars This Week | Seminars This Month
Fall | Winter | Spring | Summer | All Future

The yearly special lectures honoring W. N. Lacey recognize outstanding research and are held during the winter or spring quarters.

W. N. Lacey

This series of distinguished lectureships is named in honor of Dr. William Noble Lacey. He was a native of San Diego, did his undergraduate work at Stanford University, and then received M.S. and Ph.D. degrees at the University of California at Berkeley. He came to Caltech as an Instructor in 1916 and advanced through the academic ranks to Professor in 1931. In addition to a distinguished career in teaching and research, he served the Institute in a number of significant administrative capacities, particularly as Dean of Graduate Studies from 1946 to 1956 and as Dean of the Faculty from 1961 to 1962. Dr. Lacey was honored with a Founders Award from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers in December 1968. Dr. Lacey passed away on March 26, 1977.

The William N. Lacey Lectures in Chemical Engineering are made possible by the W. M. Lacey Fund, established at Caltech by a number of friends and former students of Professor Lacey. The objective of the lectureship program is to bring to the campus world-renowned experts currently active in chemical engineering or related disciplines.

The recipient presents two seminars; a general lecture and a technical lecture. The general lecture provides a broader perspective to a field involving Chemical Engineering, while the technical lecture is specific to the research program of the recipient. Both lectures are open to the public.

The 46th annual Lacey Lecturer is Frank S. Bates of the University of Minnesota. His technical lecture topic on April 9, 2013 is "Structure, Dynamics and Properties of Block Polymer Dispersions" and his Lacey Lecture topic on April 11, 2013 is "Order and Disorder in Block Polymers: Mixing Business and Pleasure."


Previous recipients of the Lacey Lectureship are:
2012 – James A. Dumesic, University of Wisconsin, Madison
2011 – Arup K. Chakraborty, MIT
2010 – Bruce C. Gates, University of California, Davis
2009 – Carol K. Hall, North Carolina State University
2008 – L. Gary Leal, University of California, Santa Barbara
2007 – Viola Vogel, The Swiss Federal Institute of
Technology (ETH)
2006 – James C. Liao, University of California, Los Angeles
– Ronald G. Larson, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
2004 – Matthew Tirrell, University of California, Santa Barbara
2003 – Klavs F. Jensen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2002 – Sangtae Kim, Lilly Research Laboratories
2001 – Michael L. Shuler, Cornell University
2000 – Douglas A. Lauffenburger, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1999 – Robert A. Brown, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1998 – John L. Anderson, Carnegie Mellon University
1997 – Eduardo D. Glandt, University of Pennsylvania
1996 – Gary L. Haller, Yale University
1995 – Robert S. Langer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1994 – Julio M. Ottino, Northwestern University
1993 – Timothy J. Anderson, University of Florida
1992 – William B. Russel, Princeton University
1991 – Csaba Horváth, Yale University
1990 – Richard C. Alkire, University of Illinois
1989 – Arthur W. Westerberg, Carnegie Mellon University
1988 – W. Harmon Ray, University of Wisconsin
1987 – Adel R. Sarofim, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1986 – Thomas J. Hanratty, University of Illinois
1985 – Charles W. Tobias, University of California, Berkeley
1984 – Edwin N. Lightfoot, Jr., University of Wisconsin
1983 – Dan Luss, University of Houston
1982 – H. Ted Davis, University of Minnesota
1981 – Jerry McAfee, Gulf Oil Corporation
1980 – Neal R. Amundson, University of Houston
1979 – Morton M. Denn, University of Delaware
1978 – L. E. Scriven, University of Minnesota
1977 – Michel Boudart, Stanford University
1976 – Leon Lapidus, Princeton University
1975 – Monte Throdahl, Monsanto Company
1974 – R. Byron Bird, University of Wisconsin
1973 – John Sinfelt, Exxon Research and Engineering Company
1972 - Andreas Acrivos, Stanford University
1971 - Harry Drickamer, University of Illinois
1970 - Rutherford Aris, University of Minnesota
1969 - John Prausnitz, University of California, Berkeley
1968 - Arthur Metzner, University of Delaware


Special Lectures

Professional Societies


©2009 California Institute of Technology. All Rights Reserved.


California Institute of Technology California Institute of Technology